6th AND FINAL ESSAY ABOUT MY NEW SHOW, THIS ONE ABOUT WEIRD DUDE ENERGY!

Wicked Clown Love is the sixth full length show in my pop star/pop music based performance series. As I’ve been working on this show I’ve been thinking about the elements I’ve worked with as I’ve made this series of pieces. I’ve decided I’m gonna put up a variety of lil essays about these thoughts for you as they relate to my work in general and my upcoming Insane Clown Posse based show (Feb 2-4, 2012 at the Kitchen! Be there!!) in specific so that you, the American public, can read all about it, if you so desire… Here is Part 6, entitled:

NEAL MEDLYN’S WEIRD DUDE ENERGY

You guys should check out this great blog!

When I first talked to the Kitchen about doing this show, I talked to Matthew Lyons about my interest in men, together, feeling feelings and creating communities. He told me about this blog Weird Dude Energy, which, in addition to being a regular source of inspiration, was almost the name of this show.

I decided against it, for various reasons, but I decided in its honor to regale you with my own Weird Dude Energy stories:

ME AND FARRIS IN A HOTEL ROOM, IN A FIELD, IN A CAR

This one co-worker of ours used to like to watch Full Metal Jacket and laugh and laugh. We did not know this and went to his shitty, rent by the month, hotel in order to buy drugs. He then popped in his Full Metal Jacket tape and started cracking up.

Farris and I never went back there again.

We had several such misadventures during this period:

This guy nicknamed Stick who wanted us to hang out with him and his uzi and wait “for these guys who were gonna come over and start some shit.”

We also got into some kind of weird feud with this guy who, although we were feuding with him, we’d still go get high with him. We would key his truck, then we’d go ride out into the woods.

Anyway, one night after the keying, he drove us really far out into the middle of nowhere, then left the road and drove into the middle of some deep dark nowhere field.

He got out of the cab of his truck, climbed in the back with us, took a flash polaroid and said he wanted something to remember us by.

I have never been so convinced I was going to die.

ME AND CHRIS AND MIKE IN THE CAR, FEELING THINGS

My friend Chris, with whom I won that rap contest I told you about, at one point was in my Chevette with me and we were driving around on some oil top roads, talking. “I Can’t Make You Love Me” came on the radio and we went silent and quietly sang it to ourselves.

Later, my friend Mike and I used to play noise music once a week at a coffee shop in Nacogdoches, Texas. Not sure why the owner allowed us to do this, but he did, as long as we went last each night. He would do horrible sounding things with a record player and I would attack my ‘prepared’ guitar.

Then, once on the ride home, “Landslide” came on and we too stopped talking and sang along. Very quietly.

Leave a Reply

